RED

Rouge – Red  “Praise you”

“red” is a collective exhibition around the subject of the colour red and all that it implies, evokes, emits! For me, at this precise moment, this colour is synonymous with rupture, and so all of the elements that make up this installation have a link with rupture. As a punishment, I started to write out a phrase by Stephen King in pencil: “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy” and I repeated it in every way possible, that is from floor-level to a height of 1 meter 80 centimetres along the whole length of a wall. In some places this succession of phrases appeared to make up the buildings of a city.

In front of the wall I placed a mirror on a stand up to a height of 1 metre 20 centimetres, thus you only see your own body up to the top of the thorax, whereas above in continuation of the mirror a rectangle of brilliant white is painted on the wall, surrounded by phrases written in pencil. This rectangle is as wide as the stand of the mirror and reflects the red colour that present in the room that precedes that of this installation and is exactly at the height of a normal mirror.

On the stand of the mirror there is a Discman which provides a soundtrack:

1/ applause from a full concert hall (6000 people)

2/ a text read in a room with an echo on the voice. (alone in a huge hall facing 6000 people):

« You are great, you are great, yes you are, but the rest of the world doesn’t know this news , so tell your friends and everybody, that you are the person who can give joy, love, fun, sex and colour of money !  Don’t be timid… »

3/ end of the reading followed by applause, then a song by Joy Division begins: “New dawn fades”

4/ the sound of wind and the applause begins again in a loop.

On this wall there are two photos:

On the left (15cm x 10.5cm) a close up of a bruised thigh, below this there is an inscription: “Je suis bleu de toi” (I am blue of you – in French the word for Blue, ‘Bleu’, is also used for a ‘bruise’).

On the right (39cm x 60cm printed on mirror) a close up of the sole of a foot, in this there is a hole and the photo/mirror is hung such that the hole in the foot is at 1.60 M (more or less head-height).

After this wall (when one advances through the space) a roll of construction site barrier tape is attached to the wall, below this a text (A4) is pinned.

*

ROUGE

Rouge  « Praise you »

« rouge » est une exposition collective qui tourne autour de la couleur rouge avec ce qu’elle suscite, évoque, émane ! A ce moment précis, cette couleur pour moi était synonyme de rupture, donc tous les éléments qui composent cette installation sont dans la voie de la rupture. Telle une punition, j’ai commencé par écrire au crayon  une phrase de Stephen King : « All works and no play makes Jack a dull boy » et je l’ai répétée dans tous les sens, c’est-à-dire du sol jusqu’à 1 mètre 80 centimètres sur toute la longueur du mur. Cette succession de phrases formaient par endroit des bâtiments d’une ville.

Devant le mur, j’ai placé un socle en miroir qui a une hauteur de 1 mètre 20 centimètres, de ce fait vous ne voyez que votre corps jusqu’au thorax, par contre un rectangle est peint sur le mur en blanc brillant (en guise de miroir) au-dessus du socle et entouré des phrases écrites au crayon. Ce rectangle a la largeur du socle et reflète la couleur rouge qui se trouve dans la pièce qui précède celle de l’installation et il est juste à hauteur d’un miroir traditionnel.

Sur ce socle miroir se trouve un Discman avec comme bande son :

1/ applaudissements issus d’une salle comble (6000 personnes)

2/ un texte est lu dans un pièce avec un écho dans la voix. (seul dans immense hall face aux 6000 personnes) :

« You are great, you are great, yes you are, but the rest of the world doesn’t know this news , so tell your friends and everybody, that you are the person who can give joy, love, fun, sex and colour of money !  Don’t be timid… »

3/ fin de la lecture et  des applaudissements, ensuite commence une chanson de  Joy Division : « New dawn fades »

4/ Son du vent  et les applaudissements recommencent en boucle.

De part et d’autre de ce mur nous avons deux photos :

Celle de gauche (15cm x10,5cm) avec un gros plan d’une cuisse avec un hématome, en dessous de celle-ci une phrase est écrite : « Je suis bleu de toi ».

Celle de droite (39 cm x 60 cm impression sur miroir) avec un gros plan sur la plante d’un pied, dans celle-ci il y a un trou  et la photo sur miroir est accrochée pour que le trou du pied se trouve à une hauteur de 1,60 M ( + ou- l’hauteur de la tête ).

Après ce mur (quand on s’avance dans le lieu) une bobine de bande de travaux est accroché au mur et en dessous de celle-ci est épinglé un texte (A4)

 

© photos Michel Moffart