LIGHT MY FIRE

*

LIGHT MY FIRE

“Light my fire” Centre culturel Jacques Franck

The questions raised by this very particular project have their origins in reflection on movements in the world of culture, performance, plastic art and art in general, and above all on its representation.  These questions are in no way foreign to the everyday life of the Jacques Franck Cultural Centre in which every artistic domain can find its place whether it be plastic art, contemporary dance, cinema, performance art or music.

If one were to interview the people in the street – given the ever increasing gap between the different social classes – we can note that many people dream of a brighter future; and this is often interpreted on the basis of the lives of celebrities. This becomes evident by simply observing the ever increasing success of “people” magazines, or the ratings of “Star Academy”, “Popstar” and other “Talent Contest”-type emissions on the musical and commercial TV channels.

Social life and spectacle are inherent elements in the lives of human beings, and if the dividing line between dream and reality is often very thin, we all descend, at some time or other in our lives, into performance, or even drama.

“Light My Fire” finds itself situated between ordinary everyday life and the legitimate ambition to set off towards bluer skies.

Materials:

1 soundtrack (applause) triggered by a light sensitive cell.

10 green spotlights.

5 doors with computer controlled opening systems that open and close on 5 different coloured monochromes.

5 computer controlled fans.

1 computer controlled crystal chandelier (switches on and off and revolves).

1 podium with two set of headphones + interview of people on the street on the subject of the Star System.

Construction site barrier tape + 11 paintings of the same tape + painted texts.

1 red carpet that revolves on itself.

11 frames with pages of short extracts of celebrity lives (portrait photos removed).

5 dust covers with the names of celebrities embroidered on the back.

1 white sofa facing a white wall.

LIGHT MY FIRE

« Light my fire » Centre culturel Jacques Franck

Les problématiques abordées dans ce projet particulier proviennent d’une réflexion sur les dérives du monde de la culture et du spectacle, des arts plastiques et des arts en général, et surtout de sa représentation. Ces questions ne sont pas étrangères avec la vie quotidienne de ce lieu même qui est le Centre culturel Jacques Franck dans lequel tous les domaines artistiques trouvent leur place que ce soit dans les arts plastiques, la danse contemporaine, le cinéma, les arts de la scène ou la musique.

Si nous effectuons un micro trottoir – et étant donné le fossé de plus en plus grand entre les différentes classes sociales – nous constatons que beaucoup de gens rêvent d’un avenir meilleur ; et cela se traduit bien souvent par le biais de la vie des stars. Il suffit pour cela de constater le succès grandissant des magazines dits « people », ou l’audimat des « Star Académie », « Popstar » et autres « Nouvelle Star » des chaînes de TV musicales et commerciales.

Vie sociale et spectacle sont les composants itinérants de la vie des êtres humains, et si la frontière est souvent très fine entre rêve et réalité, nous basculons tous à des moments divers de notre vie dans la représentation, voire de la comédie.

« Light my fire » (allume ma flamme) se situe entre la vie ordinaire de tous les jours et l’aspiration légitime à des envols vers d’autres horizons azurés.

Matériaux :

1 bande son (applaudissements) qui se déclenche au moyen d’une cellule optique.

10 spots de couleur verte.

5 portes avec compas d’ouverture commandées par ordinateur pour s’ouvrir et se refermer sur 5 monochromes de couleurs différentes.

5 ventilateurs commandés par ordinateur.

1 lustre en cristal commandé par ordinateur (s’allume et tourne).

1 podium avec deux casques + interview micro trottoir sur le Star Système.

Bandes de travaux + 11 tableaux ces mêmes bandes + textes peints.

1 tapis rouge tournant sur lui-même

11 cadres avec des pages accompagnées de brides de vie de stars (portraits enlevés).

5 cache-poussière avec des noms de stars brodés dans le dos.

1 canapé blanc face à un mur blanc.

© photos André Goldberg