About

EN – The work of Djos Janssens has evolved largely towards three dimensional pieces, audiovisual environments and in-situ interventions, ephemeral structures in urban spaces that incorporate the architecture and the context of their location. By action and thought he reflects the contemporary nature of his intentions.

I have often highlighted the aesthetic and conceptual qualities of his work, especially two common threads: the treatment of colour and thus light itself, and the intervention of multi-layered phrases.

Interrogations spring forth from the relation between two these sources of information, one plastic and the other semantic, like vital punctuation and a simultaneous collapsing and juxtaposition of senses, bringing complexity that is not immediately apparent on first approach to the work.

Through superficially simple interventions, the artist breaks down even the most solid stereotypes and disturbs the common grounds of both perception and understanding.

Through these pathways plastic thought is analysed, reflected and applied with a sharp critical sense.

Claude Lorent Art critic (aica), Exhibition curator, Cultural attaché of the BOZAR – Bruxelles

 


 

Download my CV

About

FR – La démarche de Djos Janssens a évolué principalement vers des pièces tridimensionnelles, vers des créations d’environnements sonores et visuels, des interventions in situ tenant compte de l’architecture et du contexte des lieux investis, des réalisations publiques éphémères dans le site urbain. Cette pratique et cette réflexion montrent l’actualité de la démarche.

Deux constantes apparaissent dans ce travail dont j’ai fréquemment souligné les qualités esthétiques et conceptuelles, d’une part le traitement de la couleur et partant de celui de la lumière, de l’autre la participation de phrases polysémiques.

De la relation entre les deux données, l’une plastique, l’autre sémantique, jaillissent des interrogations, des ponctuations critiques, des glissements et des superpositions de sens, apportant aux œuvres une complexité rarement soupçonnable au premier abord.

Par des interventions à première vue simples, l’artiste ébranle les stéréotypes les plus solides et met à mal les lieux communs tant du regard que de la compréhension.

A travers un tel cheminement, c’est la pensée plastique qui est analysée, réfléchie, appliquée, avec le sens critique aigu.

Claude Lorent Critique d’art (aica), Commissaire d’expositions, Attaché culturel BOZAR – Bruxelles

 


 

Download my CV