SOTTO ALLE STELLE – part II



SOTTO ALLE STELLE – part II

Sotto alle stelle (part II)   MAAC  Bruxelles

Under the stars (Sotto all stelle) is interpreted both symbolically and figuratively, with contemporary daily city life and that which surrounds it as a starting point; in order to do this different lighting set-ups in the form of metaphors for day and night will underscore the desire to put the spectator in the situation of being a possible active part of the work. An inversion of the nature of things will be instigated at the entrance to the exhibition by fixing a fake garden to the ceiling in order to provoke thought on the density of our living spaces in cities.

All of the elements that make up this exhibition are treated in a metaphorical manner: thus in the rear hall building construction site barrier tapes are painted on the floor, being metaphors for ourselves, individuals and our eternally incomplete living spaces.

Materials:

1st room:

Green transparent adhesive on the window of the entrance door. Artificial grass fixed to the ceiling with 200 computer controlled LEDs (constellation as seen from Benelux) that will light up in synchronisation with the cries of children at specific instants.

2nd room:

Three pit-props from floor to ceiling.

3rd room:

Five strobe-lights + building site barriers + two two-sided mirrors (cut out in the form of a [guillotine] blade) + soundtrack with electric and electronic music extracts (that function in sync with the strobe-lights). Construction site barrier tape painted on the floor.

SOTTO ALLE STELLE – part II



Sotto alle stelle (part II)   MAAC  Bruxelles

Sous les étoiles (Sotto alle stelle) est à la fois pris au propre et au figuré, avec comme point de départ la vie citadine contemporaine au quotidien et ce qui l’entoure; pour ce faire l’utilisation de différents éclairages en guise de métaphore diurne et nocturne soulignera cette volonté de placer le spectateur dans une situation de membre actif possible de l’œuvre. Une inversion de la nature des choses sera effectuée à l’entrée de l’exposition en fixant un faux jardin au plafond afin de provoquer des réflexions sur l’étroitesse de nos espaces de vie citadine.

Tous les éléments qui composent cette exposition sont traités de manière métaphorique : ainsi dans la salle arrière des bandes de travaux seront peintes sur le sol, étant des métaphores de nous-mêmes, individus et de nos espaces de vie en perpétuels chantiers.

Matériaux :

1ère salle :

Adhésif transparent vert sur la vitrine et sur la porte d’entrée. Faux gazon fixé au plafond avec 200 leds (constellation à partir du Benelux) qui seront commandés par un ordinateur et qui s’allumeront en synchronisation avec des cris d’enfants à des moments précis.

2ème salle :

Trois étançons du sol au plafond.

3ème salle :

Cinq stroboscopes + des barrières de chantier + deux miroirs R/V (découpés tel un couperet) + une bande son avec des extraits de musique électrique et électronique (elle fonctionnera en synchronisation avec les stroboscopes). Bandes de travaux peintes sur le sol.

© photos Serge Gutwirth